2017 Stupka Symposium: April 6th, 2017

April 6th, 2017

The 12th Annual Stupka Symposium is entirely organized and run by the undergraduate students in the Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology areas of study. This event was the inspiration of Robert John Stupka III, an undergraduate student majoring in biochemistry at Iowa State University. Rob believed in the power of research allowing extraordinary to be possible and strived to connect students and faculty for the purpose of scientific investigation.

Keynote Speakers:

Dr. Gloria Culver
Ribosome biogenesis
University of Rochester

Dr. JoaquĆ­n Espinosa
Mechanisms of gene expression control in the p53 network
University of Colorado, Denver


Samson Condon
Coevolutionary analysis and structural prediction of the bacterial divisome proteins FtsB and FtsL
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Schedule overview:

Breakfast9 - 10:30 a.m.
Speaker/Student Lunch Sessionsnoon - 2 p.m.
Poster Sessions2 - 4 p.m.
Speaker Program4 - 7 p.m.
Dinner7 p.m.

See the complete schedule for more details.


Registration is now closed.


Poster Submission

Poster submissions are now closed.

Volunteers Needed

Consider volunteering for the event. Email us at stupkaugrs@iastate.edu to get involved.

2017 Committee Leadership

2017 Committee photo v2

Symposium Chairs: Morgan Barrett, Jeff Carley
Secretary: Drew Tonsager
Treasurer: Bailey Mooney

Sub Committee Coordinators:

Speaker: Tyler Gilbreath, Samuel Tufts
Publicity: David Rosenthal
Funding: Julia Ngyuen
Sponsorship: Alex Donelson
Operations: Lauran Chambers
Food: Natalie Whitis
Website and Registration: Brittany Bolerjack
Poster: Matt Cook, Joseph Washington
Volunteer: Adrienne Smith, Lisa Warnock
T-Shirt: Alyssa Lantz

Advisers: Desi Gunning, Gustavo MacIntosh